Daily Archives: July 8, 2014

Quilting – a new obsession?

Sunday Morning Quilts High Five blocks

I’ve been bitten by the quilting bug!

Quilting has never really appealed to me before.  It looked like you have to be very precise (not me at all) and I’d rather spend the fabric fund on material for clothes.

Then last summer I read The Last Runaway by Tracy Chevalier, which got me interested in the history of quilting, and more recently came across a copy of Sunday Morning Quilts.  SMQ is all about using your scraps to make quilts, which is of course the traditional way.  I have a lot of scraps, including a few precious pieces I’d like to preserve, so this did appeal!

Sunday Morning Quilts High Five

I chose the High Five quilt design (above) and thought I’d try a block or two.  And now I’m hooked.

I liked this design because it uses four toning strips around one contrasting one, which makes choosing fabrics quite easy.  When the block is complete it is trimmed to 5 inches square, so any joining mistakes won’t affect the rest of the squares – great for a beginner like me.

I like the idea of making a few squares whenever I like.  Who knows when it will be finished (and it may end up as a large cushion rather than a quilt) but I think I will enjoy making it.