FFO – Finally Finished Object!

What’s the longest you’ve taken to make something, start to finish?  This top, Butterick 3385, took a year and a half!

Butterick 3385 2

I made it at the beginning of 2012.  Muslined first, then spent time finishing with french seams and bias bound the underbust seam.  I must have forgotten to try it on during making, because when I did, it was far too big all over, and the bias binding made that seam lumpy.  The thought of remaking it was too much, and it’s been in a drawer ever since.

Before alterations

Before alterations

So this week, as one of my June resolutions, I decided to fix it.

I decided not to make it too fitted, as the fabric is vintage viscose and fairly delicate.  I unpicked the front seam and eased the two front pieces across so they wrapped a bit more.  Then I sewed around the armholes so the frills and shoulders are both shorter.  Then I serged all the raw edges – no lumpy bias binding.

It’s still quite loose, but the fabric is very drapey so  it looks fine.  And it is wearable at last!

Looking back at my original post, I also mentioned that we were about to pick up this little one -

Hetty 1

In that year and a half, Hetty has grown a bit!

Hetty 2014

9 responses to “FFO – Finally Finished Object!

  1. This looks lovely Denise and wow hasn’t Hettie grown! As for taking time to make things – you saw my UFOs from the 1980s. Haha x

  2. Hettie is adorable…as is that lovely top. Well worth the wait!

  3. This is really pretty Denise. I’m pleased you persevered with the alterations as it looks lovely.

  4. What a wonderful result!! Your dog is adorable too.

  5. A finished garment is a win – no matter how long it took. I love the fabric, very pretty :)

  6. yes I love that fabric! and AWW Hetty! how cute!

  7. Pingback: June and half year goals update | dottie doodle

Leave a Reply

